Friday 7/Saturday 8th September 1935. Hatfield

 Click here to see the Newsreel!

G ADOD 1935 KC 002 via Gordon Riley

Story of the Race:

Pilot Aircraft   Race No


Capt E W Percival Percival Mew Gull G-ACND 2 6th
Mr W Humble Miles M.2E Speed Six G-ACTE 5 13th
Mr L   Fontes Miles M.2L Hawk Speed Six G-ADGP 6 forced landing near Durham during Day 1
Miss R Fontes Miles M.2U Hawk Speed Six G-ADOD 7 disqualified during Day 1 - missed turning point
Mr F G Miles Miles M.5 Sparrowhawk G-ADNL 9 11th
Mr C E Gardner Percival D.3 Gull Six G-ADFA 10 7th
Mr Ken HF Waller Percival D.3 Gull Six G-ADEP 11 9th
Mr T W Morton Percival D.3 Gull Six G-ACUP 12 10th
Mr S W Sparkes Percival D.2 Gull Six G-ACPA 13 8th
Mr L Lipton Miles M.3C Falcon Six G-ADLS 15 5th
Flt-Lt Tommy Rose
Miles M.3B Falcon Six G-ADLC 16 winner
Mr O GE Roberts GAL ST.12 Monospar G-ADLL 17 19th
Capt H S Broad de Havilland Technical School T.K.2 G-ADNO 18 4th
Mr Richard O Shuttleworth Comper Swift G-ABWW 21 retired at Biggleswade during Day 1 - leaking fuel tank
Mr A H Cook Miles M.2H Hawk Major G-ADGE 22 eliminated after Day 1
F D Bradbrooke Miles M.2T Hawk Major G-ADNK 23 forced landing near Blackpool
Mr Alex Henshaw Miles M.2T Hawk Major G-ADNJ 24 crashed in Irish Sea - picked up by passing steamer
Flt-Lt J GD Armour B.A. Cupid 3 G-ADLR 25 retired at Newcastle
Mr E TC Edwards Percival D.2 Gull Four G-ADOE 26 retired at Belfast - sheared magneto drive
Flt-Lt J B Wilson B.A. Eagle G-ACRG 27 14th
Mr A CW Norman Miles Hawk Major G-ADMW 28 20th
Mrs E Battye Hawk Major G-ADLA 29 eliminated after Day 1
Mr Angus CS Irwin B.A. Eagle I G-ACPU 30 16th
Mr C J Melrose Percival Gull VH-UVH 31 12th
Mr Owen Cathcart Jones Miles M.2H Hawk Major G-ADLB 32 3rd
Fit-Lt H RA Edwards Miles M.2R Hawk Major G-ADLN 33 2nd
Capt W L Hope D.H.85 Leopard Moth G-ACHC 34 15th
Mr J Barbour D.H.85 Leopard Moth G-ACUO 35 18th
Mr A H Tweddle Avro 616 Avian IVM G-ABME 36


Starters: 29 (out of 36 entries)

Did not start:

Tom Campbell Black DH Comet G-ADEF 1  
Flt-Lt R Duncanson Parnall Heck G-ACTC 3 sold to Mrs Jill Wyndham
P/GR de Havilland DH90 Dragonfly G-ADNA 4  
P de W Avery Comper Streak G-ACNC 8  
S L Turner Percival Gull G-ACPA 14  
Sir Charles Rose Airspeed Courier G-ACLT 19  
Capt W L Hope Comper Swift G-ABWH 20  
  • Articles View Hits 443316

Contact Me

DSCI1060 1

Please feel free to send me your comments, requests, extra information or corrections.

Click here: Email Me