A Fleeting Peace

Golden-Age Aviation in the British Empire

The Secretary of the Air League of the British Empire (Air Vice Marshall Sir William Sefton Brancker, of whom much more elsewhere), decided in 1921 to encourage air racing with a new award. The Royal Aero Club was tasked with determining how it should be won.

However, the only people who could realistically compete (up until 1927, anyway) were all in the RAF.

Date Pilot Aircraft   Story of the Race
17 Sep 1921 (Relay)

Flt-Lt J M Robb/

Flt-Lt R W Chappell/

F/O P Murgatroyd


Avro 504K/


August 1922 (race not completed)     1922
6 Aug 1923

Flt-Lt H S Shield

Bristol F.2B

1 Oct 1924

Flt-Lt W E G Mann/

Flt-Lt E B Mason/

Flt-Lt C R Keary

Sopwith Snipe/

Sopwith Snipe/

Sopwith Snipe

16 Jul 1927 Mr N H Jones A.N.E.C II G-EBJO 1927
9 Jun 1928 Sqn-Ldr H M Probyn Westland Widgeon II G-EBRQ 1928
5 Oct 1929 Mr N S Todd D.H. 60 Moth G-EBPT 1929
4 Jun 1932 Mr S B Cliff Desoutter II G-AAVO 1932
website security